The inevitable waiting room conversation.


The moments we feel uncomfortable, especially when the obnoxious walk in, and speak a language, that no one understands, so they feel compelled to speak louder, to get everyone’s attention, like if they’re cool or something. Who hasn’t been there? And if so, didn’t it just get you aggravated? It’s people like this, that gives me that chill up my spine, of “pulling out their spine”. This is one reason why, I avoid the public. The reason why, I’m not in my cocoon, is for the wife and her medical appointments. She will be on sedated meds, hence, I’m the driver today! All I can say is, “AGH” in my head, of course. A waiting room full of people, that up until now, obnoxious people had to ruin it. Not to mention for everyone else also. The televisions on, and talk-show nonsense is on, but I can’t touch the tv (big note advising no one to touch). Uncomfortable is how I feel, and the clammy hands I have, to the point of droplets on my jeans (yuck). I brought my laptop, but no wi-fi, so I have my trusty iPhone, to do the job, but it’s going to die at some point. When I get out of here, which God willing, will be the only time, I will need to be outdoors for the remainder of the weekend…Seriously, it is very rude, to speak another language, when we damn well know, they speak English. How rude!

About luis castillo

An introvert who enjoys reading, writing and journal entry and recently picked up iphoneography along the way. My "Walls of Solitude" is my sanctuary and where most, if not all of my writings scream through my fingertips.
This entry was posted in All Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The inevitable waiting room conversation.

  1. mrphilgru says:

    Luis think of it this way – if you knew what nonsense they were talking about, you would have probably been even more irritated. Be cool and distance yourself from them. Build your cocoon right there in the waiting room. Mute their voices, blur their silhouettes. Think of something that makes you genuinely smile, your kids for example. You’re an introvert and if there is one thing introverts know well is how to live your life inside your head. You are the boss of you. How miniscule those strangers are on the scale of your entire life and those few things that really matter? Smile, let them be, shrug it off. Kiss your wife.

    • Oddly enough, I understood all they said, they just spoke in a slightly different dialect, but nonetheless, were incredibly rude and lacked etiquette. On a good note, they were soon told to keep their voices down and to respect the area. I was glad to have been called soon after, to see my wife in recovery.

Leave a Reply

