The Unattainable Bliss That Is Silence


20130926-091320.jpg

I couldn’t live in a city, that needed noise, to fall asleep. A great example of that, is New York City. Born and raised in New York, I can see how silence, will never be achievable. It is, in the silence of life, together with public isolation that makes things calm and collected. To live in beautiful bliss, is to remove oneself from the congestion, the endless lines of cars at the traffic light, not to mention people yelling across the street. It is a wasteful way to spend a day, if you’re an introvert. Actually, it can quickly get overwhelming to the point of feeling ill. In the subtle, brisk, endless woods of New England is exactly what an introvert needs in life. Together with the fall foliage and a warm cup of coffee, having Chopin playing in the background is the perfect day. Oh, I almost forgot, add some rain in their also. It always makes for a good environment for writing.

It was, and has been such a treat, to have left the New York/Long Island area because a person can only take in so much, of the rudeness that comes with being a New Yorker. Their is one thing that is truly hard to move away from, and that’s the endless pursuit to find a road rage free society, but that’s another blog. Being able to have peace and quiet in life, is so essential for good health and less stress. So much can be helped, by living away from major cities and to give in, to the peacefulness of solitude. Especially for the writer, we couldn’t ask for a better environment to work in. I have become a person, who is easily startled when the phone rings because of the loud noise it makes.

Cloudy, rainy, just raw days are my favorite. I’m not much of a sunny day, clear blue skies kind of person. I am an indoors freak, that enjoys all my time, in what ever I do, inside. I rarely enjoy the outdoors and contemplate thoughts of getting fresh air every now and then, but usually doesn’t make it past the contemplation stage. I don’t enjoy movies, unless they’re On-Demand and most of the time, it’s all marketable commercials to go out and spend money, which really upsets me. I live my life one day at a time because it’s all we have. Forget about yesterday, enjoy today, and God will see us through tomorrow. God? Yes, God! I am fearful of Him for all He can do and all He knows. That is another purpose of silence, so we can better hear Him, if He chooses to speak to us. Silence is a gift that we should all try to attain because in doing so, days go by slower and more can be done. Life is not a mad dash to the finish line, but it’s in peace and quiet, that much can be attained and grasped. Be a sponge, and take it all in, instead of repelling all because we’re such in a hurry to get things done because in doing so, we’ll skip this or forget that.

About luis castillo

An introvert who enjoys reading, writing and journal entry and recently picked up iphoneography along the way. My "Walls of Solitude" is my sanctuary and where most, if not all of my writings scream through my fingertips.
This entry was posted in All Writings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

