College Is Not For Everyone


I only had about one year of community college and it was awful. I had no intention of being there, but it was for the satisfaction of  my parents that I attended. I was horrible at math, had little interest in attending any of my classes, but political science. That was my only interest. I began to struggle and eventually ended up disappointing my parents, for I knew that an undergraduate education, wasn’t for me. To be in classrooms with other students, would deviate my attention from actual work, I began to daydream of being elsewhere. It was all just a waste of time for me.

I had no intentions of being an aristocrat and found myself completely bewildered by the entire experience. My parents, on the other hand, found it imperative that I push on because what was I going to do without an education. I had only received a GED. I felt obliged to listen to my parents because they didn’t attend college, so I felt compelled to satisfy them. I contemplated everyday how I would break the news to my parents, that I failed many of my classes due to not attending. I had no intention to become an innovator, therefore, why bother. I felt then, just as I feel now that post-secondary education is for those people who feel that they will take their knowledge, with the degree they achieved, to fulfill a dream of theirs. I never had those dreams, I didn’t have the spirit or the capacity to be in a collegiate society. I was felt completely abject in that environment. All the while, I felt completely exasperated with all my teachers and fellow students. It wasn’t the place for me. I never, not once took the initiative in any assignment or class project. Their were times, where I had to work as a team and that didn’t work to well with my introversion.

It’s almost 10 years since I’ve attended any classes, and let me say…I’ve learned more, on my own, than a classroom has ever taught me.

About luis castillo

An introvert who enjoys reading, writing and journal entry and recently picked up iphoneography along the way. My "Walls of Solitude" is my sanctuary and where most, if not all of my writings scream through my fingertips.
This entry was posted in All Writings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to College Is Not For Everyone

  1. I have always had the same exact outlook on college. It is more of a business than anything else; a college or university basically sells you the experience and the degree. Ever heard of someone buying a degree? I know some folks with rich parents who did just that. Having a degree does not equal success; it is more of a vanity in my eyes, of which speaks nothing to me as to what really matters in life.

Leave a Reply

