Driving With The World


Some point throughout my life, I wondered how it would be to be among so many different nationalities at one time. Then to come to realize, it happens everyday while driving. Never knowing who they are or where they came from, but we’re together on the highway. I find that fascinatingly terrifying. Aside from political differences and the foods we eat, the knowing of having a person from elsewhere and not knowing what they’re capable of behind the wheel is mind boggling to me. Everyday, we hear of accidents and no licenses, but when it comes to driving cars, I tend to always look at the person rather than the way they drive.

I’ve never been to Asia, but when I see an Asian person driving, I immediately leave their side because of all the crashes that they cause (statistically speaking). The same goes for Americans. Knowing where are they from based on their license plate, let’s me know (statistically speaking) how bad they drive. Now, is that prejudiced? I think so, but it’s also reality.

Now, depending on where in the U.S you are from, the degree of driving ability depends on how many crashes you can avoid. For instance, the South can’t drive in snow…not even on two inches, but in the North, it would take a foot to startle a driver.

My point is…where in the world can so many different people from all walks of life can come together and feel like they can do anything….is right here, in the good ol’ United States of America.

About luis castillo

An introvert who enjoys reading, writing and journal entry and recently picked up iphoneography along the way. My "Walls of Solitude" is my sanctuary and where most, if not all of my writings scream through my fingertips.
This entry was posted in All Writings, freelance writing, journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

